Downtown Black River FallsThe City of Black River Falls is a historic community, is the county seat and is located in the center of Jackson County in the heart of west central Wisconsin. The villages and townships of Jackson County are Melrose, Millston, Brockway, City Point, Hatfield, North Bend, Northfield, Taylor, Hixton, Alma Center and Merrillan. All are located within a 20-mile radius. A good network of county trunk roads and state highways link the villages to each other and to the city.